What’s The Real Story?

Standard

download (18)

Or you were never serious

What is it today

What will it be next time we argue

I’m really curious

Are you remorseful

Or just sorry you were caught

I’m not sure I care about accountability anymore

All I know is it’s impossible to shut the door

With your foot wedged in it

And I can’t evict you from my heart

Because you’ve moved too deep into it

So I won’t listen to your story

I’ll try to keep so busy

That nothing you can tell me

Will find a way to reach me

And I’ll keep moving through my motions

A mermaid drowning in her ocean

It’s all I can think to do

That’s my same old story

I’ve tried to change it

But the truth confounds every attempt to rearrange it.

-LM January 2014

Leave a Reply

