Your Christmas

Standard

 A Mermaid's Christmas Eve by Artist Robin Pushe'e https://www.etsy.com/people/RubysBrush

This is my first ever, Holiday song. In keeping with the Fragmeantz theme, it is a quickly produced, very rough draft.

This is for everyone who may not be feeling it this year. Maybe you’re an atheist. maybe you don’t celebrate anything. Maybe you celebrate something other than Christmas.

Perhaps this year has been especially terrible to you and it’s been impossible to get in any kind of holiday spirit. Times are lean. You have seasonal or all the time depression.

I feel you! And this is for you!

This link is a quick, one shot recording of a holiday message  to you, from me and I me singing the song. (By the way, I would love it if there’s someone out there who would like to actually collaborate on music for this) As a professional, it is really hard to just pop off a recording in the middle of the night. I’m used to doing many takes and lots of rewriting before I share with anyone I’m not writing with so I hope you will remember, it’s the thought that counts!

Here you go:

Here are the lyrics:

Your Christmas

I don’t need a season for giving

I don’t need a myth to believe

I don’t need angels and holly

your “Christmas” means nothing to me

I don’t want friends and relations

Who turn up once or twice a year

Out of a sense of obligation

Or pressure to be of good cheer

Worth isn’t measured in spending

Or how much you can pile under a tree

I stuff my feet in my stockings

Your “Christmas” means nothing to me

 

Because sacred is where and when you make it

You hold it in your heart and you just know

It doesn’t need a shiny ribbon tied up in a bow

it doesn’t need a heaven or a fire down below

it doesn’t need to carol under softly falling snow

You hold it in your heart and you just know

I won’t hear eight tiny reindeer

Making a ruckus on my roof

Singing, Away in a Manger

Never brought me any closer to the truth


No worries ’bout naughty or nice lists

Or all of the places I should be

I don’t need need wise men or sleigh bells

Your “Christmas” means nothing to me

So I will quote a  favorite story

That turns up round this time of year

“I will honour Christmas in my heart,

and try to keep it all the year.”

 

Because sacred is where and when you make it

You hold it in your heart and you just know

It doesn’t need a shiny ribbon tied up in a bow

it doesn’t need a heaven or a fire down below

It doesn’t need to kiss you  underneath the mistletoe

You hold it in your heart and you just know

You open up your heart and you just know

Leave a Reply

