Patient

Standard

willothewisp

Have you ever been drawn in by someone who can’t come close but continuously haunts you with vague possibilities? If you ever tried to coax a feral kitten or a stray dog who’s forgotten how to trust to let you help them, this is the feeling. Or maybe a person you aren’t really sure that you can trust or not, but you want to let down your guard anyway. It’s infuriating, but you have to do it on their terms. They are asking you to be patient. How do you meet these terms without losing yourself? How do you know if you’re just having your chain yanked or feeding someone’s need to control. How patient should you be before walking away?

PATIENT

I follow you, will o’ the wisp
Never quite in my sight
Always and forever teasing
So far out of reach
And yet close enough to touch

You dance and bob
You disappear
And no matter how
I squeeze my eyes
I cannot bring you into focus

An illusion
Vexation
Surely Leading me
Into the depths of a swamp
That I may never find my way out of

A ghost with a sense of humor
A timid child
A wily coyote
The yowling cat perched on my shoulder
Riddle me this

And float away
Into the cradle of darkness
And discordant harmony
Cactus spines
Hiding tender fruit and sweet water

Blind and dazed
Unsure of where to put my shoes
Am I standing on anything
Finding a beginning
How am I not falling

I wait
Patient and impatient
Squinting and scrying
For a better glimpse
A wit of understanding

All the rules I so carefully
Built up to pad
My vulnerabilities
Now broken into dust
Sufficiently pulverized

I lay down my arrows
My sword, my armor
My will, my confidence
My every common sense
I lay down

Perhaps for naught
I wait
Patient and impatient
Plain and simple
Because you asked me to

And even in your silence
In your darkness
In your preoccupation
I leave a door ajar
A window cracked for you

A light in the parlor
Something warm in the oven
An extra blanket at the foot of my bed
These things wait
Not impatient; patient

I follow you, will o’ the wisp
Never quite in my sight
Always and forever teasing
So far out of reach
And yet close enough to touch

While I squeeze my eyes
And try to make you out
Bobbing and dancing
Willing to get lost
Without losing myself

Because once you asked
Me to be patient

-LM 2015
First Fragmeant of 2015
Happy New Year all!
And in keeping with my goal to be brave write music anyway in hopes that I will find a collaborator who can write music with me, here is my literally, go for it, off the cuff, middle of the night, oh hell this is the melody that came to me for now: https://soundcloud.com/lorelei-moon/patient-1

I really hate to sing most things A Capella and this kitchen is super echoy, but there it is!

Leave a Reply

