Tunnel Vision

Standard
The first few lines of this song popped in my head one night while I was driving. This happens a lot. Sometimes I get on a tear and I have to pull over to write things down. Sometimes using the recorder on my phone is manageable. Other times I have to keep repeating things while I drive and hope I don’t come up with one lie too many and forget it. Tunnel Vision started as a little fragment that grew when I picked it up a few weeks later. Then I tucked it away and forgot about it. I came across it recently and fleshed it out.
I haven’t got someone to work out the music with but I do have a working melody, but it’s not easy for me to sing right now so I’ll wait to record it. My voice sounds alien to me. I suffer from a condition called vasomotor rhinitis and it has made it nearly impossible for me to sing for several months. Sometimes I can’t even croak out an octave. 
I suppose a lot of my stuff is moody, brooding or gloomy. Intense things just tend to inspire me more. And usually, words just pop into my head, like this one. I didn’t set out to write a song about an obsessive or smothering relationship. I think there are parts of this that are rooted in a relationship I had no business attempting but it sparked a lot of creative work and I can’t complain about that! The song does end on a hopeful note, swapping someone else’s narrow vision for the wide, clear, free expanse of blue sky. Yes, there’s a metaphor there. There’s a lot of symbolism in this song for you to work out in a way that’s meaningful to you someday. 

TUNNEL VISION

You are the intersection where my heart stopped
You are the course correction that fucked me up
Here stops my heart and it can go no further
Can’t veer off the road or make evasive maneuvers

All my gears are frozen still you set me spinning
And sorting through the sticks and stones is so confusing
You feel like an ending that is just beginning and it’s going to drag on

The sun is sinking deep into a panoramic blue
Visual dominion  holds my gaze like glue
Your own spectacular tunnel vision
The tunnel is wide
That tunnel is wide
And I can’t see through to the other side

You are the lake that iced with me half under
You are the sound at night that makes me shudder
Desperately lost and I can go no further
If my bones are never found who will avenge my murder

All my thoughts have folded in I can’t stop thinking
You must have found it funny when I came out swinging
You feel like an ending that is just beginning and it’s going to drag on

The sun is sinking deep into a panoramic blue
Visual dominion holds my gaze like glue
Your own spectacular tunnel vision
The tunnel is wide
That tunnel is wide
And I can’t see through to the other side

I’m prostrate at the crossroads with your boot on my back
You say that I’m mistaken but it’s there when I look back
And when I look up ahead the world just starts to crack
Oh the tunnel is wide
The tunnel is wide
And I can’t see through to the other side
No I can’t see through to the other side

So I’ll just put my head down and I’ll cover my eyes for a long time
So I’ll just put my head down and I’ll cover my eyes for a long time

I’ll put my head down and I’ll cover my eyes
‘Til the sun disappears
I’ll put my head down and I’ll cover my eyes
‘Til the sun disappears
I’ll put my head down and I’ll cover my eyes
‘Til the sun disappears And there is only blue sky
And there is only blue sky
And there is only blue sky
I’ll put my head down and I’ll cover my eyes
‘Til the sun disappears And there is only blue sky
Only blue sky
Only blue sky
Only blue sky
Only blue sky
Only blue sky

LM 2014
tmg-slideshow_l

One thought on “Tunnel Vision

Leave a Reply

